h1

The Economist in Hot Water Over Obama Photo

July 6, 2010

Well it seems as though The Economist is confusing the point of “journalism” here. On their latest cover is a photo of President Obama, seemingly standing alone on the Louisiana coast, hanging his head with the tagline, “The Damage Beyond the Spill”. Here’s the article from PetaPixel.

I just want to say I’m in total agreement with those that think this was going too far. As the article says, it completely changes the tone of the photograph. When you’re in the trade of journalism, the last thing you want to be known for is sensationalism. The pessimistic tone of the cover and the headline that seems ripped from a Jump-to-Conclusions mat is borderline fear-mongering, and frankly I’m sick and tired of getting that from the media.

Give me the goddamn facts, and let me form my own conclusions. Stop spoon feeding me this garbage, and treat me like an adult.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

